Russell Hicks- Unprepared-Leicester Comedy Festival

I have always observed that the the more attractive a performer is, the less talented they have to be. Mr Russell Hicks is a man who can work a crowd with both his words and his hips. A man who really knows what to do with a stage, Russel poses and contorts his body to please the ladies in the front, whilst stroking the egos of their men. No, I am not describing a burlesque show, but a comic whose routine is fed by the responses of his audience.

From the Greggs work group, to the venture scout, to the sarcastic Scotsman. There was plenty of material to grinrussell-hicks-stand-up-col to, keep the titters flowing, and finally have people screaming with laughter.

The cynic in me did start to notice that Russell uses bates, and uses the stage space really well, to begin the giggles and build up comedy momentum. He had some backups lest his interactive routine run dry. But if I am honest, I could have quite happily listened to him for another hour.

The only problem I could really admit with Russel’s routine, is it depends very much on how responsive the audience is. The interactive space worked very well in an intimate venue. However, I cannot say how talented the man would be when faced with a crowd that didn’t want to play ball. His improvisational skills were great, but without seeing how he would take on a tough crowd, I cannot say how great. That said, based on tonight’s performance, I have high hopes.

Laughter level: Roaring
Awkwardness level: Minimal
Reading the room: Grandmaster

Leave a comment